How Do Gun Laws Work In Michigan, And How To Equip Yourself With A Weapon

0
339

In any given year, there are around 300,000 defensive gun uses in the United States. This means that a gun was used in self-defense to stop or prevent a crime from happening. The number of lives saved by guns is likely much higher, as many crimes go unreported.

Guns are an important tool for self-defense, and it’s important to know how to use them safely and effectively, and in Michigan, there are several ways to equip yourself with a weapon for self-defense.

Let’s see the several things you should know.

The Laws about Carrying a Firearm

In Michigan, there is no permit required to purchase a rifle, shotgun, or handgun. You must be at least 18 years old to purchase a long gun, and 21 years old to purchase a handgun. However, it is illegal to carry a firearm in a vehicle without a permit, unless the firearm is unloaded and locked in a case.

Additionally, it is illegal to carry a concealed weapon in Michigan without a Concealed Pistol License (CPL). To get a CPL, you must be at least 21 years old, have completed a firearms training course, and have not been convicted of certain felonies or misdemeanors.

On the other hand, you can open carry in Michigan without a permit, as long as you are not carrying a concealed weapon. Open carry simply means that the gun is visible and not hidden on your person or in a bag. If you have a CPL, you can open carry and concealed carry. However, you can carry a firearm in your vehicle without a CPL, as long as the gun is not concealed on your person or within easy reach.

Private Sellers and Smiths

In Michigan, there are no laws regulating the sale of firearms between private individuals. You do not need a license to sell firearms, and there is no limit on the number of firearms that can be sold. There is also no waiting period to purchase a firearm from a private seller.

However, there are also no laws regulating gunsmiths in Michigan. You do not need a license to buy firearms parts or to assemble firearms, so if you purchase a firearm from a licensed gunsmith in Michigan, they are not required to perform a background check on you. Also, they are not required to keep records of the firearms they sell.

Shops and Ranges

In Michigan, all firearms dealers must be licensed by the state. They are required to perform background checks on all customers who purchase firearms and must keep records of all firearms sold. There are no laws regulating gun ranges in Michigan, but most ranges will require you to sign a waiver before using their facilities.

Additionally, most gun shops will not sell to out-of-state residents, and many will only sell to Michigan residents. If you are looking to purchase a firearm while visiting Michigan, your best bet is to find a gun show or private seller.

Online Purchases

It is legal to purchase firearms online in Michigan, but the process is a bit different than buying from a brick-and-mortar store. First, you must find a federally licensed firearms dealer in your state who is willing to ship the firearm to a licensed dealer in Michigan. Then, you must have the Michigan dealer perform a background check on you. Once that is complete, you can take possession of the firearm.

It is also legal to purchase ammunition online in Michigan. However, these sellers will check the age limit and will not sell to someone below it. They can also only sell to people who are not prohibited from owning a firearm.

Pistol-Free Zones

There are several places where it is illegal to carry a firearm in Michigan, even if you have a CPL. These places include:

  • Schools and school property
  • Daycare centers
  • Sports arenas and stadiums
  • Bars and taverns
  • Churches and other places of worship
  • Hospitals
  • Courtrooms
  • Colleges and universities

Additionally, it is illegal to carry a concealed weapon in any place where carrying a firearm is prohibited by federal law.

Possession of a Firearm by a Felon

In Michigan, it is illegal for a convicted felon to possess a firearm. This includes anyone who has been convicted of a felony in any state, even if they have since had their conviction expunged or their civil rights restored. This means that if you are a convicted felon, you cannot own or possess a firearm, even if it is legal for you to do so in your home state.

On the other hand, it is legal for convicted felons to possess a firearm if they have been pardoned by the governor or if their civil rights have been restored by the Michigan Secretary of State.

The Training Requirement

To obtain a CPL in Michigan, you must complete a firearms training course that is at least 8 hours long. The course must be approved by the Michigan Commission on Law Enforcement Standards and must cover a wide range of topics, including:

  • firearm safety
  • use of deadly force
  • state and federal firearms laws
  • proper storage of firearms
  • self-defense

You can find a list of approved courses on the Michigan State Police website. Once you have completed an approved course, you will need to submit a certificate of completion with your CPL application.

Applying for a CPL

To apply for a CPL in Michigan, you must be at least 21 years of age and a resident of the state. You must also not be prohibited from owning or possessing a firearm under state or federal law.

To apply, you will need to complete an application form and submit it to your local county clerk’s office, along with the following:

  • A certificate of completion for an approved firearm training course
  • A passport-style photograph
  • The application fee ($100 for new applications, $50 for renewals)

If you are a military member or veteran, you may be eligible for a reduced fee. You will also need to have your fingerprints taken as part of the application process.

Gun laws in Michigan are relatively permissive. To purchase or carry a firearm, you will need to obtain a Concealed Pistol License (CPL). You can do this by taking an approved firearm training course and submitting an application to your local county clerk’s office. There are some places where it is illegal to carry a firearm, even with a CPL, so be sure to familiarize yourself with the state’s gun laws before carrying a weapon.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here